Five Minute Friday – “more”

Happy Friday!

It’s another Five Minute Friday. We happily link up with the amazing writing community at Kate Montaug’s site Heading Home. Each Thursday night she posts the word for the week and we get 5 minutes to write unedited then gather up our courage and hit publish right then.

This week’s word is: more.

GO.

This week the word choice is once again ironic.

More. Layered with the idea of garage sales and you have an oxymoron. There is nothing about a garage sale that doesn’t scream more.

I want that one thing… for just a bit more money. Would you take this for that? Would you be willing to accept this price for that one thing more?

Yep. More. Not a word that fits this week usually – but this week is different.

This year we are moving. This year I have absolutely no idea what will fit where in the new house so my garage sale habit is still strong but very very limited. I walk away from most household items and keep solely to my predetermined list of clothing items the kids need or shoes in the next sizes and other things like that.

And I just have to share the very best thing God provided. It wasn’t anything I “needed” but such a sweet reminder that He cares for the smallest details of our lives. Our puppy has this insane need to rip my shoulder out of its socket when we go for walks. At this one garage sale, the lady picked up a harness that she said didn’t fit her dog and said it was supposed to curb the pulling. I thought – it couldn’t hurt! So she let me try it out right there as I had the dog with me. It was like another animal was walking next me!! She didn’t pull one bit. Suffice it to say that was the best $5 I spent the entire day.

Those little moments where God provides above and beyond what we think we might want MORE… precious. He never stops either. Even today. This moment. Always working and providing no matter the situation or the hardness of heart. His MORE is always better than ours.

Times up.

There it is. “more”

Enjoy!

signature_4_orig

10 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – “more”

  1. The garage sale is definitely a place of opportunities for “more”! 🙂 I love that you can see the little gifts you receive like the harness. Sometimes He really does surprise us with those little gifts. Thanks for visiting my post. Looking forward to reading more of your FMF posts!

    Like

  2. Loved this, Ruth. It’s my first visit to your site, and I’m impressed with the quality of your writing; there’s a snap and a vigour than very few have.

    And I do know the ‘harness thing’; we have a sanctuary for abused and abandoned dogs – mainly BIG ones – and those anti-pull harnesses are very useful.

    #1 at FMF this week.

    http://blessed-are-the-pure-of-heart.blogspot.com/2017/04/your-dying-spouse-303-give-me-lord-what.html

    Like

    1. Thank you for the kind words! The FMF community has been so encouraging. The complete gut honesty of your posts is refreshing. Real. I am part of BSF (Bible Study Fellowship) and this year our small group has been pounded by cancer. Several women and their families all dealing with it in various ways and forms. Your writing helps in that nebulous uncertain silence most people take as insincerity. Keep it up!

      Like

  3. Hi there Ruth! So glad to see you on WordPress! I like your “More” story. I often write for Five-Minute Friday too, it’s such a good discipline to at least get a little writing done and a great way to make connections in the writing community. It’s true, the Lord always provides all we need and cares so deeply for us.

    Like

    1. Oh Myrna! I’m so thankful for you and your prompting to invite me to your writer’s group. FMF is also such an encouraging place to put our words!

      Like

Leave a Reply

