Five Minute Friday – “future”

It’s that time again! The Five Minute Friday linkup! Our fearless leader Kate Motaung sent out some amazing news this week. We now have our own community on Facebook as well as a spiffy new website!! Check it out here!! Click on the link to find out how to join up if you’d like to link your own blog to this encouraging community.

Okay. Down to business. Today’s word is “future”. 5 minutes set on my timer… and GO!

This afternoon was surreal. Future was not what I was thinking about but the past. 14 years of memories to be precise. In the last month we sold the home we came home to as newlyweds and bought a new house (which is amazing and a great glimpse into our future) but when you close a door on a part of your life, you can’t help but look back.

There were a few tears as I pulled away. A thousand memories assaulted me as I walked through the house for the last time. So many I can’t even begin to put words to them in only 5 minutes.

What I want to focus on is where I was when I drove my familiar van out of the very familiar driveway for the very last time… I have a beautiful future. Regardless of how things go and regardless of what happens. I have a future because of Who died for me and what He paid for. I am redeemed and I have a future that shouts the greatness of my God. Gorgeous gold paths for me to walk… a tree with roots that are infinite and free of sin and the struggle to follow God… perfect existence with others and most importantly I will someday get to SEE my Abba God!

I cannot wait for this promised COMING future! I just can’t.

And Time’s UP!

There it is. This week’s FMF – “future”. What a perfect word for this week at the Nerd Factory!

cropped-signature_4_orig

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – “future”

  1. Congratulations! Exciting things to look forward to and great memories to look back upon. So important to keep in mind why we have those things as well. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. What a huge change ahead! The future can be so many things – exciting, scary, elusive, predictable… I wish you and your family all the best in the months ahead as you settle into your new rhythms and routines 🙂

    Like

  3. Yes, new adventures have a bit of mystery, are a little bit scary, but they also give us new scenery, new people and many opportunities to let God use us. I hope you really like your new surroundings. Your area (we lived there for 3 years) is very different from where you have been. I know God will use your talents and gifts to bless others and your family as well. God Bless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

