31 Days: “create”

Day 3 of 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes!

The word is “create” – five minutes on the timer… and GO!

Oh how I love this word!! It sweeps over me like an enticing breeze daring me to act.

A couple weeks ago, I had the privilege of teaching my 1st grade Sunday School class this idea. “We are created in the image of God.” (Our church just started the amazing curriculum of The Gospel Project!)

Each child had a party-sized container of play doh in front of them. I told them they needed to open it and create something from it as I read the story of God making people. They carefully created heads and hands and feet and legs and bodies for their “guys”. Then at the very end of the story, I asked them to do what God had done for Adam. Breathe on their clay people and see what happened. Without exception, each child looked at me as if I’d lost my marbles! Miss Ruth, they said, only GOD can do THAT!!

I told them that yes only God can create people and give them life, but He’s given us the ability to create things too! How is it that we can create beautiful sculptures and art?

… and time’s up!

I could write about this much longer than 5 minutes!!

Enjoy Day 3!

cropped-signature_4_orig

2 thoughts on “31 Days: “create”

Leave a Reply

