FMF & 31 Days – “invite”

Day 13 of 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes!

Today’s word is “invite” – five minutes on the timer… and go!

January I was given a gift. A woman in my BSF group asked me if I would like to come to her writer’s group in Zeeland.

She had no idea that I was craving that connection or that I desperately needed to pull myself out of the cloud of doubt most writers live in.

I looked up this strange group called Word Weavers – which seemed a fittingly descriptive name considering what writing truly is.

Then I showed up.

That was the hardest part. Showing up. I felt exactly like I was walking into a new school half way through the year. What if I’m the only one not published? What if I have nothing to offer?? What if I make a fool out of myself talking nervously? What if I just don’t fit with them?

I shut up the what-ifs by showing up and then showing up again.

Turns out, they were exactly who I needed to encourage me and give feedback that only writers can give each other. They are my tribe. I leave our meetings feeling like I have a place in this world where my weirdness with words is normal.

And yes. They feel the same about me. This is how life is in the tribe. But I would’ve never known it had my dear friend Myrna never invited me.

So I am inviting again another hurting writer friend to our group – with a big hug.

… and time’s up!  Day 13 complete.

cropped-signature_4_orig

Leave a Reply

