31 Days: “remain”

Day 15 of 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes!

Today’s word is “remain” – five minutes on the timer… and go!

What an interesting word. According to dictionary.com, to remain means a couple things. For someone to continue to exist after another person or thing has ceased to exist… lots of ideas to write there for sure.

It can also mean staying in the place a person currently is or to continue to possess an ability or title… there. That’s it.

This month the theme of the words Kate’s chosen have all touched on the idea of writers/writing/the craft of such… etc.

To remain a writer is an interesting idea.

As I’ve mentioned before sometimes it takes everything I have to stay looking at the screen and type with the objections my mind conjures. But to remain aka to not quit being a writer – that’s even harder.

It requires that even when the words don’t come easily and it would be much more expedient to just let someone else write the book/post or whatever to continue to push on. No matter what.

To remain in the title of a writer but then I have to remain in the One who gave me this gift to begin with. I must humble myself before Him first and ask for the words He wants me to use and to seek His wisdom for story ideas.

Remaining is not anything I can do on my own long term without His help.

… and times up!

Day 15 complete! Half way done 🙂

cropped-signature_4_orig

Leave a Reply

