31 Days: “read”

Day 16 of 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes.

Today’s word is “read” – five minutes on the clock… and go.

I’m not sure why I was procrastinating on this one. Reading is one of my favorite things to do – ever!

Recently I posted in FB about a book I was enjoying and this weekend I finished listening to it. Let’s just say, I was very disappointed in the way the author used language and the things she included in her story.

The Bookshop on the Corner began like I imagined I would greet a long lost friend! It was brilliant and amazing. Her intro is something that should be framed and pointed to as great art!

But her choices in plot and the scenes she included toward the end were entirely unnecessary and made me want to post a retraction in my recommendation – not to mention the language!

Now, I understand this book in no way is written by a Christian author and I do not expect a “prairie chicken” (Janette Oke reference via Dr. Rosalie de Rosset) ending or plot line, but come on! Just because the F-word would be used in your vocabulary does not mean there aren’t other words for creating the appropriate emotional response on the part of the reader.

So. Why is this important? Because as a writer to whom words are as unique as the different muted tones of colors, I expect other writers to use them well. Paint your scenes with a big and minute brush. Engage your reader in amazing relationships and the reality of life while staying this side of the bedsheets. Please. Let me enjoy the journey of reading without blushing that I recommended this to someone.

… and time’s up.

Day 16 complete.

 

Leave a Reply

