31 Days: “grow”

Day 17 of 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writes!

Today’s word is “grow” – five minutes on the timer… and go!

Growth happens at the strangest times over the most unexpected things.

Today I read a post by another blogger Zarah Parker about Nanowrimo. I’d already marked off November for the purpose of pounding out 50,000 words, but her post caught me off guard.

She explained in her post all the reasons she felt it was actually more harmful for a writer to complete the 30 days of 1200 words daily to reach the goal rather than spending the time crafting sentences and paragraphs a reader would truly savor the joy of reading.

My soul truly resonated with her words. I could hear the wisdom and understood the hesitation I was feeling towards November.

So I grew.

I changed my conclusion and now November is blessedly free and open. I am excited to intentionally practice the craft as well as enjoying the moments as the mom to our three story-makers rather than telling them to hush because I have to get another thousand words typed.

Not to mention the annual update for our family blog.

… and time’s up!

Day 17 done.

cropped-signature_4_orig

Leave a Reply

